You call forth spirits to protect you. They flit around you to a distance of 15 feet for the duration. If you are good or neutral, their spectral form appears angelic or fey (your choice). If you are evil, they appear fiendish.
When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it. An affected creature's speed is halved in the area, and when the creature enters the area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 3d8 radiant damage (if you are good or neutral) or 3d8 necrotic damage (if you are evil). On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 4th level or higher, the damage increases by 1d8 for each slot level above 3rd.
* - (a holy symbol)
Does this spell affect creatures above the caster?
"They flit around you to a distance of 15 feet for the duration."
One would assume it means 15 feet in all directions.
Ah, Spirit Guardians. The cleric's version of a breath attack.
In the PHB, this spell requires concentration. It doesn't state it here. I have to keep arguing with players and bring out the PHB over and over to show them. The spell is too strong for it not being a concentration.
I was wondering bout 'concentration' too. Is that maybe what the "C" in the black diamond beside the duration represents? There is no legend ...
Yes, that's exactly what the "C" means.
That can't be what the C in the black diamond means. I get that C on several of my Paladin spells that are instantaneous. Bless, Divine Favor, Protection from Good & Evil, Thunderous Smite, Shield of Faith...not one says anything about having to concentrate. They are either immediate or 10 min durations. So the C MUST mean something else.
Although I assumed it meant Concentration and then noticed Concentration was not mentioned in the spell description, I assumed it was meant to mean something else. I thought, after my post, I should have done my due diligence before posting anything on a forum, so I pulled out the PH. It does, in fact, say Concentration on all those spells I listed above. However, since the spell write up in the D&D Beyond DOES NOT say concentration, is it possible, through some errata I am not familiar with, it's changed to simply a duration spell? And they just forgot to remove the C, I've noticed other mistakes on D&D beyond, so forgetting to remove the C from spells that are no longer concentration based, I could understand.
Anyways, I just wanted to say that after posting that, I did refer to the PH and realized I was mistaken. But maybe not.
The "C" in the black triangle means that it is indeed a concentration spell.
Just wanted to make that 100% clear if anybody was still confused.
As far as concentration goes...
It does, that's the little C icon before the duration